International Jazz Day 2022
Global Concert from United Nations Headquarters in NY hosted by Herbie Hancock

International Jazz Day 2022Global Concert from United Nations Headquarters in NY hosted by Herbie Hancock

The flagship Jazz Day event, a spectacular All-Star Global Concert, will be staged in the UN General Assembly Hall, in New York, emphasizing the importance of jazz as a means of achieving unity and peace through dialogue and diplomacy. With Herbie Hancock serving as Host and Artistic Director and John Beasley as Musical Director, the program is set to feature performances by some of the world’s most accomplished jazz artists, including vocalists Shemekia CopelandJosé JamesYoun Sun Nah (Republic of Korea), Gregory Porter,Alune Wade (Senegal) and Lizz Wright; pianists Joey Alexander (Indonesia), Helio Alves (Brazil), Laurent de Wilde (France), Hiromi (Japan), Ray Lema (Democratic Republic of Congo), and Tarek Yamani (Lebanon); drummers Terri Lyne Carrington and Brian Blade; bassists James GenusMarcus Miller and Linda May Han Oh (Australia); saxophonists Ravi ColtraneDavid Sanborn and Erena Terakubo (Japan); guitarist Mark Whitfield and trumpeters Randy Brecker and Jeremy Pelt, among others.

Also joining the global ensemble will be harmonicist Grégoire Maret (Switzerland), harpist Edmar Castañeda (Colombia), percussionist Pedrito Martínez (Cuba) and clarinetist Kinan Azmeh (Syria). Further information on the 2022 cast is available on jazzday.com. This concert will be webcast worldwide at 5 pm EDT/2 pm PDT/11 pm CET on jazzday.comunesco.orghancockinstitute.org, the International Jazz Day YouTube and Facebook channels, UN Web TV and US State Department outlets.

Archives